h1

Family Reunion Season

August 13, 2011

It’s August and the weather is starting to get a little cooler (just a little, mind you.  I still have to either run the fan or sit here and marinate in my own sweat).  We all know what that means…reunion season is upon us!  I personally love reunion season.  I try to go to as many reunions as I can during reunion season because they are invaluable sources for genealogy information.  There’s nothing better than Aunty Mable’s rantings to get you where you need to go in your hunt for names, dates, and documentation.

Family Stories:  Recently, I have made contact with my Grand Aunt Tommie and she is a gold mine!  She is the older sister of my paternal grandmother (by about a year and a half) and is one of only two siblings who are left.  Bless her heart, she has really tried hard to answer all my questions, numerous as they are, and I have gleaned so many things form her.  Between she and her sister Betty, they are a veritable goldmine of information and family stories that, to me, are absolutely priceless.  Some people are name and date collectors, I but I really feel like if you don’t know a persons story then knowing their name is kind of worthless.

Family Research:  I have also recently made contact with my biological, maternal grandfather’s brother.  Yeah.  I know that’s a mouthful, but such is a genealogists lot sometimes.  His name is Floyd and he is fabulous!  I am humbled by the amount of genealogy research that he and his wife have done over the past 30 odd years.  I was lucky enough to visit their house and they have an entire room…yes you heard me right, an entire room…to the genealogy of the Corder family.  It’s freaking insane!!!  They have binder after binder cram packed with pictures, obituaries, newspaper clippings, birth and death records, etc.  For me, it was a lot like winning a golden ticket to the Willy Wonka factory and makes me a little more sympathetic to the plight of Augustus Gloop.  If I were a less reserved woman, I probably would have jumped up and down and clapped my hands like a little kid!

Connecting with the Living:  I have been to one family reunion this year and I have one to go.  🙂  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to make it to the third and I was really sad.  I’ve been working really hard to make this more than a collection of names.  I really want for this to be a common bond between me, my daughter, and our extended families.  And, it seems to be doing its job.  I’ve made contact with people that I never knew existed on more levels than one!  As I research, I find myself reaching out more and more to people like my Aunt Tommie and Uncle Floyd for their memories and the information they can provide.  But, I find myself talking to people across the country who are related to me in less immediate ways, but who are willing to share info with me about our shared ancestors.

Isn’t genealogy magical?

 

Happy Hunting!

Leave a Reply

